The Great Alpine Road extends from Wangaratta to Bairnsdale and has been known by various names over the years of its existence. Originlly the road from Harrietville to Omeo was known as The Alpine Road, while the Oeo to Bairnsdale section was the Omeo Highway.
Later, the road from Wangaratta to Omeo became the OVens Highway, before becoming the Great Alpine Road, when the sealing of the surface was finally completed. The Omeo to Bairnsdale section of the road was also renamed at this time.
Angus McMillan originally surveyed the route from Harrietville to Omeo in the 1860's. The first cuttings to cater for a wheeled traffic were built by Henry Morgan in 1872, including a portion of the road, which ran around the south face of Mt. Blowhard and is still easily seen today frm Litte Blowhard.